11th Biennial Ontario Open Art Exhibition

May 6 – August 15, 2021

Closing Reception: Saturday, August 7, 2021

5:00 PM-7:00 PM

Since 2001, hundreds of artists of all ages have participated in this exhibition. Visitors have enjoyed viewing two-dimensional and three-dimensional artwork with a wide range of subject matter and technique. The Ontario Open features both established and emerging contemporary artists who use a variety of media such as oil, acrylic, clay, metal, fiber, textile, photography, ink, graphite and more.

Juror: Kathryn Ervin is a Professor in the Department of Theatre Arts at California State University San Bernardino. She is a graduate of Wayne State University and Illinois State University. She teaches courses in Directing, Acting, Creative Drama and African American Theatre and Film and Culture. She is a director and has directed drama’s comedies and musicals.

Recent work includes; ROWING TO AMERICAIN THE HEIGHTSONCE ON THIS ISLAND, and INVISIBLE a play based on The Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison and HG Wells. Her original production of the hip hop opera KEEP HEDZ RINGIN’ by Rickerby Hinds was a finalist at the KCACTF in Utah and presented as part of the NYC Hip Hop Theatre Festival in 2002. She is the author with Ethel Pitts Walker of An African American Scenebook. She is a consultant and past president and received a Life Time Member Award for the Black Theatre Network. She is a member of the California Educational Theatre Association. The Association for Theatre in Higher Education and The California Arts Project. She was recently inducted as a fellow in the Kennedy Center American Theatre College of Fellows.

Juror, Kathryn Ervin, had a difficult time choosing the winners and we extend our congratulations to these amazing artists; First Place is Pechez Sepehri, Tatiana Counting Her Chicks, Second Place is Annie Toliver, Lady Day’s Lyrics, Third Place is Mary Hughes, Living in Multiple Realities in the Present, Honorable Mentions are Frank Carillo for Hungarian Horntail, Rick Cummings for Aluminum Dreams, Patricia Jessup-Woodlin for Ancestral Reclamation, Viktoria Romanova for First Date and City Council Liason Awards, A.G. Castaneda for West and Linda Garcia-Dahle for Wind Chime/Glowing Tree.